努納瓦丁體育場

歷史

Nunawading籃球中心,可以說是70年代和80年代澳大利亞最著名的籃球場,最早是在1960年代中期提出的。該中心位於東伯伍德東伯伍德高速公路東伯伍德保護區,已成為國內外籃球和相關設施的代名詞。

這個耗資800萬美元的中心(2008年保險重置價值)在澳大利亞是獨一無二的,因為它是由籃球贊助人在努納威丁業餘籃球協會(NABA)的管理下建造並支付的。

NABA是一家非營利性社區發展公司,從1969年至今一直負責籃球中心的建設並為之付款,所有收益均返還給了中心和籃球。

自1970年以來,該中心為社區提供了一項主要的體育資產,而納稅人無需為此提供資金。這是墨爾本東部籃球協會(MEBA)的所在地,該協會每週舉辦800支比賽(7000名球員)的比賽,一年中每天比賽48週。 MEBA以Nunawading Spectres的名義運營面向青少年和老年人的代表團隊。

1963年,成立了墨爾本東部男孩籃球協會,到60年代中期,該協會已發展為91個少年男孩和開放年齡的男子球隊。 1966年,在為迅速擴大的比賽而需要更多法院的壓力下,該協會成立了體育場建築分委員會,該委員會向Box Hill委員會提交了關於在東郊建立一個中央體育場的意見書。

似乎可以確定理事會將在Box Hill South的薩里大道建造一個四球場體育場並由其支付費用,但是當談判進入後期時,阿爾伯特公園籃球場的負責人向Box Hill Council提出了反申請。維多利亞州籃球協會在墨爾本周圍控制和建設體育館的長期政策應得到維持。理事會由於兩個籃球消息來源之間相互矛盾的信件而感到困惑,因此放棄了冒險。

1968年的一個星期日早晨,雷格·斯塔克(Reg Stacker)邀請了努納瓦丁市市長,議員基思·魯尼(Keith Rooney)以及協會建築分委員會的成員,討論了雷格廚房裡喝茶時體育場的發展。在那次會議之後,魯尼表示,他將努力讓努納瓦丁議會提供一個租賃場地,並為擬建的體育場提供6000美元的現金補助。

小組委員會組建了一個合作社,籌集了100,000美元,用於建設最初的兩個法院中心。努納瓦丁籃球中心由維多利亞州總理迪克·哈默(Dick Hamer)於1970年7月24日正式開業。

1971年– 1982年 體育場的這些年是充滿挑戰的,因為初始建築物的成本比其建設中可用的資金高出20,000美元。所有人員配備的職位,例如門,清潔,食堂,體育用品商店和行政管理,均由名冊上的志願者處理。只有兩個法院並且還清貸款,很難為延期節省任何錢
1974年– 1976年 中心開展了諸如藝術表演和世界斯諾克錦標賽之類的籌款項目。
1977 借出額外的貸款以覆蓋所有法院的新地板。
1983 隨著停車場的升級,第3號和第4號法院也加入了中心。費用為40萬美元,努納瓦丁議會通過向NABA提供無息貸款的方式提供了一半的費用(200,000美元)。
1985 丹尼斯·奧布賴恩(Dennis O'Brien)被任命為該中心的專職經理。
1987 拆除了第1法院的地板和地板,並更換了中心周圍的新排水系統,費用為103 000美元。
1989 將第5法院與現有服務的一些其他升級一起添加到中心,費用為323 000美元,其中Nunawading理事會為費用提供了140000美元的無息貸款。
1992年– 1995年 該中心內用於升級和新設備的支出為245,000美元。
1997 進行了150萬美元的重大升級,包括新的會議室,更衣室,休息室,辦公室,餐廳等。
2002 Nunawading籃球中心的標牌豎立在中心的前面
  當中心的保險公司AMP在過去30年中退出提供公共責任險,並且三個月的搜索未能找到提供者時,就發生了公共責任危機。但是,保險人主動提出要提供保險時,中心不得不在關閉前一天得到了救助。
2004 更換了法院1和2的屋頂,並在法院增加了新的蒸發冷卻系統,費用為18萬美元。
2005 所有法院的全部裁員費用為100,000美元。
2006 中心重新鋪設和重新佈線– 8,000美元。
2007 新的計分板和計時器– 40,000美元。
2008 1號和2號球場上的新戒指,籃板和支撐架– 50,000美元。
  從1969年到現在,NABA花費了超過600萬美元用於建築,維護和提供新的固定裝置和設備,2008年9月,第1000萬人通過了該中心。
2009 第5場籃板比賽-25,000美元
2010 1號法院記分牌– 10,000美元
2011 名人堂賽事– 40,000美元
2012  監控攝像機– 10,000美元
  照明– $ 78,000
  在線計分– 10,000美元
  Court 1音響系統– $ 24,000

 

  網站– $ 8,000
2013  Mullauna地板– $ 35,000
  Courts 3,4籃板– $ 54,000

 

  POS系統– $ 15,000
  Gun 8000 – 9,000美元
  里諾門票盒– 10,000美元
  支撐– $ 28,000
  食堂底層– $ 6,000
  衛星場地計分– 10,000美元
2014     1號球場照明燈– $ 11,000
  Court 1 Logo&Lime – 15,000美元
  會議地毯– 20,000美元
  食堂里諾-$ 20,000
  更衣室維修-$ 21,000
2015   第5法庭絕緣材料– $ 60,000
  5號排水溝/覆層– 24,000美元
  擋土牆– 10,000美元
  第5場比賽記分牌-5,000美元
  名人堂
2016 Court 3/4絕緣/覆層
2017 廚房升級/咖啡家具
零售店
法院2絕緣/覆層
2018 會議室分區/技術
辦公室裝修/擴建
法院1籃板燈
2019 3號和4號法院得分席
法院2和5射擊鐘
1號球場LED屏幕

 

 

主要贊助商

Nunawading Stadium

History

The Nunawading Basketball Centre, arguably the most famous basketball venue in Australia during the 70’s and 80’s, was first mooted in the mid 1960’s. Located on the East Burwood Reserve, Burwood Highway, East Burwood, the Centre has become a byword at home and overseas for basketball and associated facilities.

The $8 million dollar centre (2008 Insurance Replacement Value) is unique in Australia because it has been built and paid for by basketball patrons money under the administration of the Nunawading Amateur Basketball Association (NABA).

The NABA is a non-profit community advancement company and has administered and paid for the building of the basketball centre from 1969 to the present and all the profits made are put back into the centre and basketball.

Since 1970, the centre has provided the community with a major sporting asset which ratepayers haven’t had to fund. It is the home of the Melbourne East Basketball Association Inc (MEBA) which runs competitions for 800 teams (7000 players) per week, playing each day for 48 weeks of the year. The MEBA runs Representative Teams for both Juniors and Seniors under the name of the Nunawading Spectres.

In 1963 the Melbourne East Boys Basketball Association was founded and by the mid 60’s had grown to 91 teams of junior boys and open age men. In 1966, with pressure for more courts for the rapidly expanding competitions, the Association formed a Stadium Building Sub-Committee which presented a submission to the Box Hill Council for a central stadium in the eastern suburbs.

It appeared certain that a four court stadium would be built and paid for by the Council at Surrey Drive in Box Hill South, but when negotiations were in an advanced stage, the Albert Park Basketball Stadium directors made a counter application to the Box Hill Council stating that the long standing policy of the Victorian Basketball Association to control and build stadiums around Melbourne should be maintained. Confused by the conflicting correspondence from the two basketball sources, the Council abandoned the venture.

On a Sunday morning in 1968, Reg Stacker invited the Mayor of Nunawading, Councillor Keith Rooney together with members of the Association’s Building Sub-Committee to discuss stadium development over a cup of tea in Reg’s kitchen. Following that meeting, Mr Rooney said he would try and get the Nunawading Council to provide a site under lease and a cash grant of $6000 for the proposed stadium.

The Sub-Committee formed a Co-operative to raise $100,000 to build the original two court centre. The Nunawading Basketball Centre was officially opened on 24 July 1970 by the Victorian Premier Dick Hamer.

1971 – 1982 These years of operating the Stadium were challenging because the initial building cost $20,000 more than the funds available at it’s construction. All staffing positions such as door, cleaning, canteen, sports store and administration were handled by rostered volunteers. With only 2 courts and repaying loans, it was difficult to save any money for extensions
1974 – 1976 Fund Raising projects such as Art Shows and the World Snooker Championships were run at the Centre.
1977 Additional loan taken out to overlay new flooring boards on all courts.
1983 Courts 3 & 4 were added to the Centre together with upgrading of the Car Park. The cost was $400,000 and the Nunawading Council assisted by providing half of the costs ($200,000) in an interest free loan to the NABA.
1985 Dennis O’Brien was appointed full time manager of the Centre.
1987 Flooring and sub-flooring of court 1 was removed and replaced together with new drainage around the Centre at a cost of $103,000.
1989 Court 5 was added to the Centre together with some additional upgrades to the existing services at a cost of $323,000 of which the Nunawading Council provided an interest free loan of $140000 towards the costs.
1992 – 1995 $245,000 was spent in upgrades and new equipment within the centre.
1997 A major upgrade of $1.5 million dollars was carried out that included new conference rooms, change rooms, lounges, offices, canteen and etc.
2002 The Nunawading Basketball Centre signage was erected on the front of the Centre
  The Public Liability crisis occurred when the Centre’s insurer for the past 30 years, AMP, withdrew from providing public liability cover and a search over three months failed to find a provider. However, the Centre was saved one day before having to shut down when an insurer offered to provide cover.
2004 Roofing over courts 1 & 2 was replaced and new evaporative cooling was added to the courts at a cost of $180,000.
2005 A full cutback on the surface of all courts costing $100,000 was done.
2006 The Centre was re-plumbed and rewired – $8,000.
2007 New scoreboard and timer – $40,000.
2008 New rings, backboards and supports on courts 1 & 2 – $50,000.
  The NABA has spent over $6 million dollars for the building, maintenance and provision of new fixtures and equipment from 1969 to the present day and in September 2008, the 10 millionth person passed through the centre.
2009 Court 5 Backboards – $25,000
2010 Court 1 Scoreboard – $10,000
2011 Hall of Fame Event – $40,000
2012  Surveillance Cameras – $10,000
  Lighting – $78,000
  Online Scoring – $10,000
  Court 1 Sound System – $24,000

 

  Website – $8,000
2013  Mullauna Floors – $35,000
  Courts 3, 4 Backboards – $54,000

 

  POS System – $15,000
  The Gun 8000 – $9,000
  Ticket Box Reno – $10,000
  Underpinning – $28,000
  Canteen Sub-Floor – $6,000
  Satellite Venue Scoring – $10,000
2014     Court 1 Lights – $11,000
  Court 1 Logo & Lime – $15,000
  Conference Carpet – $20,000
  Canteen Reno – $20,000
  Changeroom Repair -$21,000
2015   Court 5 Insulation – $60,000
  Court 5 Gutters/Cladding – $24,000
  Retaining Wall – $10,000
  Court 5 Scoreboard – $5,000
  Hall of Fame
2016 Court 3/4 Insulation/Cladding
2017 Kitchen Upgrade/Cafe Furniture
Retail Store
Court 2 Insulation/Cladding
2018 Conference Room Partition/Technology
Office Renovation/Expansion
Court 1 Backboard Lights
2019 Court 3 & 4 Score Benches
Court 2 & 5 Shot Clocks
Court 1 LED Screen